“I Can’t Believe It’s Happening to Me”: The Badoo Project!

10 Apr

On March 24th, 2012, I was photographed by celeb photographer Kenneth Cappello (who has worked with Justin Bieber, Zooey Deschanel, and lots of other big celebs) for the Badoo Project, a 3-day photograph-athon of 1,000 New Yorkers for the U.S. launch of social networking site, Badoo. They had Nick Cannon hosting on the first day, a DJ, a ping pong table, professional stylists, hair & makeup artists, and 4 famous photographers with the task of taking the “ultimate profile picture.” Out of the 1,000 portraits, a panel of judges would choose 22, and another 2 would be chosen by the public via Facebook “Likes”.

I’ve never been someone who has been “lucky,” at the very least. I have, however, had times where I was at the right place at the right time, and I suppose that’s “luck,” but I had to work very hard to put myself in those situations where any kind of “luck” could possibly occur. And when I heard about this “contest,” I thought to myself “No way!”, and I mean, out of 1,000 people??? ME?!?

Well, I decided to start campaigning for votes, and my high school days of running for student government came out. (Those of you who went to high school with me might remember my campaign slogan “Vote Teresa, She’s Better Than Pizza,” coined by my clever friend Danny Elstein! Though I had a feeling that calling myself “Better Than Pizza” might not work for this occasion. Though that little slogan did help me WIN the election my sophomore year and I ended up as treasurer!) In this case, I wrote a song and made a little YouTube video to try to get more votes:

 

I contacted everyone that I knew via Facebook, Twitter, email, etc. to get their vote, and to my surprise, I had garnered over 4K+ votes in only 4 days!!! All of my friends really came out and supported me like they never had before, and the amount of love I received was astronomical! AMAZING!!! Even the Brooklyn section of the NEW YORK TIMES supported my Badoo Campaign!

http://fort-greene.thelocal.nytimes.com/2012/03/28/the-day-a-full-body-aural-experience/

On April 10th, 2012, the 26 (instead of 24!) finalists for the Badoo Project were officially announced:

Revealed! The 26 Winners of The Badoo Project – Badoo News.

And guess what? I WON!!! I was one of the 2 “Peoples’ Choice” winners! Out of 1,000 New Yorkers! HOLY CANNOLI!!!

Peoples Choice Winner - Teresa Hui

Check out all of the finalists:

http://theproject.badoo.com/final.phtml

I definitely have all of YOU to thank! This contest really showed me just how amazing all of you guys are, even the ones who I don’t know at all, supporting a complete stranger for a contest to end up on an NYC billboard! You all ROCK! Each and every single one of you!!!

I would like to extend a special thanks to Paw Dugan and TWITTER for helping me out tremendously in beginning of the contest to kickstart my votes! Wow. Just WOW! Love you guys!!!

Also, I have some amazing, beautiful, talented and wonderful friends who were also in this competition, and every one of them deserve a billboard! All of these lovely people WILL be famous, and you don’t need a contest to do it!

The Badoo ad campaign premieres in NYC on April 30th! Stay tuned! 😀

P.S. I chose that title for my post because I feel kinda like Kelly Clarkson.

Leave a Reply

